Fair Person(s) of the Year

Fairperson of the year

Fox Family

This year’s Halifax County Exhibition theme is “It’s a Family Tradition”. To honour our theme, we have chosen the Fox Family as our Fair Persons of the Year. Kenneth Fox has been living in the Musquodoboit Valley for his entire life and has been participating in the exhibition since he was a child, showing dairy cattle for his father and being involved in the local 4-H.

In all his time participating in the exhibition he only missed one and has some interesting stories about others; showing in the barn due to heavy rain, building a platform when the barn flooded to keep the cows dry, sleeping in the loft to watch the cows overnight.
Through his life he has been an active member of the community and exhibition. Whether it be helping prepare the grounds for exhibition, working the refreshment booth, as participant of the Parade with their antique tractors, or as a project and general leader for the local 4H club. Now his son John and grandson Peter are following tradition and are both current members of our Middle Musquodoboit Agricultural Society Board of Directors. Over the past month they have been busy helping to prepare the grounds for the exhibition, painting, fixing plumbing and more ensure everything is ready for opening day.
We would like to say thank you to the entire Fox family for their continued support of the Halifax County Exhibition and invite you to join us at the Official Opening on Wednesday August 17th at 6:45pm at the Entertainment Stage when we present Kenneth, John and the Fox Family with The Fair Persons of the Year Award. May the Family Traditions continue


Past Fair Person(s) of the Year

The Fair Person of the Year Award is given by the Halifax County Exhibition each year to a person that has been involved with the exhibition on some level over a long period of time. This could be a longtime exhibitor, a faithful volunteer or someone within the Management Committee and /or Middle Musquodoboit Agricultural Society. Often, the person has countless hours in all these areas, like that of this year’s recipient.


2019 - Ken Streatch
2018 - Tom & Dana Parker
2017 - Vickie Dickie
2016 - Gail and Peter Huybers

2015 - Clarie Hazel
2014 - Roberta Bellefontaine
2013 - John Dillman